The Chewton Domain Society is an incorporated body representing the Chewton community. In 1995, the eleven allotments involving the Post Office, the Town Hall and the Park were consolidated into a single title by the then custodian, the Shire of Metcalfe. Later the same year Metcalfe Shire and its assets were absorbed by the newly created Shire of Mount Alexander. In April 1996 the new Shire Council put the Post Office on a list of assets for sale. The townsfolk rallied to maintain local public ownership.The Chewton Post Office.
In response to the many expressions of community feeling, the Shire Commissioners offered the Post Office back to the people of Chewton, along with the Town Hall and Ellery Park. A local committee was formed and held a community meeting in the Town Hall on November 24th 1996. That meeting adopted ‘Chewton Township Domain’ as the name for the precinct, and the ‘Chewton Domain Society’ was founded to act as its community ownership body.The Chewton Town Hall.
The task of managing, preserving and improving these assets is handled by a Chewton Domain Society Management Committee of 13 elected by the Chewton Domain Society members at their Annual General Meeting. To manage the Chewton Domain Society business there are subcommittees, although the sub-committee structure is evolving as the CDS adapts to a widening role of representing Chewton.Chewton's Ellery Park.
1. Property Management Subcommittee oversees the maintenance, development usage and leasing arrangements of the buildings and grounds.

2. Ellery Park Subcommittee oversees the maintenance, development and usage of the area.

3. People and Places Subcommittee manages the Historic Display in the Chewton Town Hall and is constantly collecting and expanding this display.

4. Chewton Chat Subcommittee produces the monthly newsletter that promotes Chewton and its district, circulates local news and provides an opportunity for local organizations and businesses to promote themselves and their activities.

Current Committee Members (August 2013) are Elaine Appleton, Judy Cobb (Vice-President), Rose Darling, Bettie Exon (Secretary and Public Officer), Phil Hall, Glen Harrison (Membership Secretary), Daria Healy-Aarons, Marie Jones (Treasurer), Marion Landy, Helen McGeachin (President), Gloria Meltzer, Jillian Milton and Sera Jane Peters.

All interested people are welcomed and encouraged to become members and part of our community. Membership renewal or application forms for joining the Chewton Domain Society are available from Membership Secretary Glen Harrison (0419 337 804). Current annual membership is $5. Enquiries or expressions of interest regarding sub-committee participation are welcomed and can be made to any member of the Management Committee, or to the secretary.

The monthly Chewton Chat is available at various locations in Chewton and Castlemaine and can be downloaded in colour from this website. It can be mailed for a year (12 editions) on payment of $20 to cover mailing costs.

Thank you for your interest in the Chewton Domain Society. Further information on Chewton's past and present is contained in the extensive exhibition housed in the Chewton Town Hall. This is open from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. on weekends.
Statement Of Purpose.